Showing posts from June, 2019

72:e Festival de Cannes Jury - Elle Fanning; Abdellatif Kechiche - "Mektoub"

By Moira Sullivan

The jury members for the 72:e Festival de Cannes were unanimously taken in by Palme d’Or winner The Parasite by South Korean director BONG Jo ho. In the first of its kind press conference Jury President Quentin Tarantino explained why Michael Moore's Fahrenheit 911 won the palme d’or. Since then the jury motivates why it gives out its award.

Atlantics by French filmmaker Matti Diop, according to Italian jury member Alice Rohrwacher, last year's best screenplay award winner for Happy as Lazzaro , won the heart of the jury, a film about men and young boys who die at sea and the women they leave behind at shore.

Although the awards this year were given to films that concern social justice, or injustice according to Jury President Alejandro Iñárritu “cinematic decisions” were involved with the process and he emphasized that “cinema has to speak for itself”.

The jury was diverse including the youngest jury member at Cannes in history, 21-year-old Elle Fanning. Iñ…